Ashtavakra Samhita

Chapter 9



ancient christianity

susan messages


office susan

office robert

vedanta advaita


secret history

dimension gateway

information board


The Asthavakra Samhita, chapter 9.


The goal is to have the Sanskrit text,

the word by word translation and

áthe english translation in one document.

Every day this document will be more complete.


English translation by John Richards (2nd. version)

Public Domain

The complete texts are downloadable at the

Ashtavakra Samhita index page.


Ashtavakra Samhita Chapter 9.



The words Ashtavakra said are here in the Sanskrit.

This omission will be corrected.




evam-giaatvaa-hein-nirvaedaat bhav-



á Kratakaratae = knowledge of thoughts

of the finished functions and the not finished functions,

ch = and,

duandhvaani = the knowledge of thoughts of two adversaries,

kadaa = when, shaantaani = became calm,

kasya = whose, vaa = or,

evam = thus, giaatvaa = knowing,

hein = in that [the knowledge of thoughts],

nirvaedaat = untroubled,

bhav = is,

ayaagiaprahavratee = envisages for the renunciation

of the desires of the thoughts.áá



Ashtavakra said:


Knowing when the dualism of things

done and undone has been put to rest,

or the person for whom they occur has,

then you can here and now go

beyond renunciation and obligations

by indifference to such things. 9.1









á Kasya = of which, upi = even,

tat = dear disciple of yoga, dhanyasaya = stated the holy person,

lokchaeshataa = observing the desire of the people,

vloknaat = of the world subtle and normal,

jeevitae = to live, chchhaa = desire,

bubhukasya = desire to appreciate, ch= and,

bubhuutsaa = the desire of knowing,

upshamam = suspension of the thoughts, gataa = reached.á


Rare indeed, my son,

is the lucky man whose observation of the world's

behaviour has led

to the extinction of his thirst for living,

thirst for

pleasure and thirst for knowledge. 9.2









áanityam = of short duration, sarvam = all,

eva = surely, idam = this,

taap-attriya = the effects of perception of thoughts in three stages,

dooshitam = of miseries,

asaaram = unreal, ninidhtam = dishonorable,

haeyam = intended for the renunciation in thoughts,

eti = this, nishchitaya = knowing with certainty,

shaamyati = delivers calms.á


All this is transient and spoilt

by the three sorts of pain. Knowing it

to be insubstantial,

ignoble and fit only for rejection, one attains

peace. 9.3










á kah = where, aso = that, kaalo = time, vaya = age,

kim = what, vaa = or, yatra = where,

dwandyani = the pairs of opposed thoughts,

aucunes = not, nirhaam = in the people,

taani = those, upaeksya = give up the desire in the thoughts,

yathaa-praptvarti = satisfied with whatsoever is attained,

sidhiam = perfection in the transformation of the

desires in the thoughts,




When was that age or time of life

when the dualism of extremes did not

exist for men?

Abandoning them,

a person who is happy to take whatever

comes attains perfection. 9.4






á Naanaa-matam-maharshi-naam-saadhunaam-yoginaam-




á Naanaa = various, matam = spiritual opinion or techniques,

maharshinaam = wise in the tranquility of the brain of the melody,

saadhunaam = saints,

yoginaam = yoga experts,

tadha = as well as, drashtavaa = considering,

nirvaedam = indifference with the gained knowledge of scriptures,

aapnanah = reached, Kah = what,

Na = not, shaamyati = reached calm,

maanavah = the individual.áá



Who does not end up with indifference

to such things and attain peace

when he has seen the differences of opinions

among the great sages,

saints and yogis? 9.5









á Kratvaa = carried out, moorti = motionless,

pari = interior subtle, giaanam = knowledge,

chatyanyasaya = thought knowledge in the brain,

Na = not, kim = what, guruh = spiritual guide,

nirvaed = indifference with knowledge gained from scriptures,

samataa = the thoughts of duality,

yukattya = the analysis of the attributes of the thoughts,

yah = he, taaryati = run away,

sansartaeh = transformation of the brain.


Is he not a guru who,

endowed with dispassion and equanimity,

achieves full knowledge

of the nature of consciousness,

áand leads others out of

samsara? 9.6










á Pashya = perceive, bhoo = matter elements,

vikaaraan = the modifications,

tuvam = you the absolute aspect of life,

bhoo = matter elements, maataraan = primary,

yathaarthatah = actually,

tatshanaet = at the same time,

bandhniah = affection of the desires,


suvaroopustah = rested in true characteristics,

bhvishyasi=will be.


If you would just see the transformations

of the elements as nothing

more than the elements,

then you would immediately be freed from all

bonds and established in your own nature. 9.7







the tattayaagah-vaasnaa-tattayaagat-istthiti



áVaasanaah = desires in thoughts,

eva = surely, sansaarah = world,

eti = thus, sarvaah = all, vimunch = renounce,

taa = those, tattayaagah = renunciation of those,

vaasnaa = desires in the thoughts,

tattayaagat= the renunciation of, istthiti = rest,

uddya = now, yathaatathaa = wherever it can be.



One's desires are samsara.

Knowing this, abandon them.

The renunciation

of them is the renunciation of it.

Now you can remain as you are.




The end of Chapter 9.


Back to the Ashtavakra Samhita main page.

site map of

What is New on


ancient christianity

susan messages


office susan

office robert

vedanta advaita

spirit places

secret history

dimension gateway

information board


Updated November 14, 2006

Everything on this website:

Copyrightę2002-2006 by Robert and Susan.